Portal da Financas, the Portuguese Taxman asking for fees through Western Union!


When you think you have seen it all, a new scheme appears on stage. This time it isn’t the Spanish Tax or Notary office, no this time it is Portal Da Financas the Portuguese Tax Office.

Timeshare Consumers who have been defrauded in the past by dubious resale companies, mainly based in Spain are now cold called by Portal Da Financas.

For some strange reason, the alleged bogus resale company has been taken to court in Portugal and amazingly the case has been won and money is to be paid out to the victims.

Wow! The only thing that separates the Timeshare consumer from getting his money back is a TAX payment or IVA Payment of 10% over the awarded money. And this money has to be paid by Western Union to an individual. They go even as far as to point out in the email to the consumer where he can find a Western Union office in his area!

On the email send from “Ministerio Das Financas” to the timeshare consumer, they actually provide the address and web details for the real tax office plus an email address and a Portuguese Mobile and a UK number.

The email address is iva@portaldafinancas.com

Telephone number Portugal: (+351) 707 707 602 and United Kingdom: (+44) 0113 815 3257

Obviously from the email address we can deduct they have registered a domain under www.portaldafinancas.com And indeed this is the case and this website was registered on the 19th of February 2013

Even stranger though is the fact that if you visit this website it jumps automatically to another one, registered the same day; http://www.lifetime-resorts.com

Lifetime Resorts appears to be Timeshare Reseller based in the UK. Lifetime

Their address on the web is Lifetime Resorts, Suite 4564, 6 Slington House, Rankine Road, Basingstoke, RG24 8PH Contact number (+44) 01225 290907 and Email: enquiries@lifetime-resorts.com

How on earth does that add up to the Portuguese Tax website? Cold calls, Portuguese Tax payments by Western Union and a website that jumps to a timeshare reseller…not good at all!

In February 2015 a new website linked to to Portal da Financas was detected wwww.portal-da-financas.org and also the email address has been changed to iva@portal-da-financas.org

If you have been contacted by Portal da Financas from 01138153257 in the UK or 351707707602 in Portugal then please let us know immediately.

Do NOT pay them any money!

You can email us at customercare@mindtimeshare.com or place a comment on this blog.

About mindtimeshare

Mindtimeshare SLU is registered Company reg number: B35957182 Mindtimeshare provides assistance to timeshare owners who have been defrauded by holiday clubs and bogus resale companies. The Mindtimeshare project was launched in February 2011. After dealing with timeshare members over several years who had been defrauded by numerous bogus companies and for large amounts of money, I considered launching an Organisation to help timeshare owners that have been targeted by bogus companies. On this blog you can find information about the different active scam companies and their “modus operandi” and also place comments, ask questions and see comments from other consumers who have the same doubts or have been through the same experience. Mindtimeshare has resulted in a huge success and has received the back up from not only timeshare consumers but also from the professionals in the timeshare Industry. Mindtimeshare helps timeshare owners who have been scammed by bogus Discount Holiday Clubs; bogus cash back companies; fraudulent timeshare resale companies; bogus class action companies and false lawyers and notaries. We offer professional answers and advice to Timeshare users. If you want to send an email instead of posting a comment on the blog please do so by emailing: customercare@mindtimeshare.com
This entry was posted in Legal Services, Mediation services, Warnings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Portal da Financas, the Portuguese Taxman asking for fees through Western Union!

  1. Tom says:

    Just your information, 01225 phone code is the area code for Bath not Basingstoke which is 01256 and the post code given on there Basingstoke address is a self storage company.
    Keep up the good work.

  2. Reblogged this on Mindtimeshare and commented:

    BEWARE, this company is active again and cold calling Timeshare Owners who have been duped in the past.

  3. SAM says:

    anythink to do with timeshare avoid like the plaig. you cant sell youre timeshase so dondt belive them and you dont pay tax in western union.. trust me i know as i live in spain and all the jobs in the paper are advertised as timeshare sellsman needid urgently no experience needid..


  4. Michael says:

    Hi again
    I told you last week that I’d been contacted by someone associated with ‘The Timeshare Shop Ltd, address is / was 229 Bolton Rd, Salford, Manchester, M6 7HP.
    I’ve just spoken to them again and they say they can get me out of my timeshare without any ‘upfront fee’. They get all the paper work done, agreement with the owners of the property in Florida, and send contract to me. Then I have to get it signed by a UK solicitor – proof of I D etc. Then I pay a Transfer Fee, Notary Fee and Timeshare Shop fee of £250.
    They are going to get back to me to let me know how much the owners will charge to do their paperwork re the transfer of ownership.
    As I have been registered with this company since 2009 and they stillh ave all my details on their system, I’m, less likely to see them as another ‘Scam’ company.
    Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.