Have you been contacted by Otium Vacations for a Timeshare Resale?


A new cold caller has been spotted by the name of Otium Vacations.

This company claims to be a very large holiday company based in Madrid, although on their website http://www.otiumvacations.com/ was only registered in February this year.

The contact details they provide are an address: Gran Via 22, DCDO4, 28013 Madrid, Contact email: info@otiumvacations.com and one Spanish mobile number 0034 602 407 276

That seems rather strange for a company who claims on this same web to be “part of the largest consumer co-operative, operating alongside over 400 high street travel agencies, a business travel operation, call centres, a specialist cruise operation and in excess of 600 travel homeworkers”. All that with one Spanish mobile!

But on their cold call to the Timeshare owners, Otium Vacations only seem to have one business task and that is a guaranteed resale.

They even go as far as putting in writing that a buyer is ready to make a 30% down payment and keen to transfer the remaining 70% as well.

All the timeshare owner needs to do is pay a security deposit which will be refundable, but secures the sale and avoids them from pulling out of it.  This “fully refundable security retainer fee” is £995

We certainly do not think this is a recommendable company and would advise Timeshare owners to be cautious when dealing with Otium Vacations. If you receive a call from 602407276 then please do let us know by email to customercare@mindtimeshare.com or place a comment on this blog.

About mindtimeshare

Mindtimeshare SLU is registered Company reg number: B35957182 Mindtimeshare provides assistance to timeshare owners who have been defrauded by holiday clubs and bogus resale companies. The Mindtimeshare project was launched in February 2011. After dealing with timeshare members over several years who had been defrauded by numerous bogus companies and for large amounts of money, I considered launching an Organisation to help timeshare owners that have been targeted by bogus companies. On this blog you can find information about the different active scam companies and their “modus operandi” and also place comments, ask questions and see comments from other consumers who have the same doubts or have been through the same experience. Mindtimeshare has resulted in a huge success and has received the back up from not only timeshare consumers but also from the professionals in the timeshare Industry. Mindtimeshare helps timeshare owners who have been scammed by bogus Discount Holiday Clubs; bogus cash back companies; fraudulent timeshare resale companies; bogus class action companies and false lawyers and notaries. We offer professional answers and advice to Timeshare users. If you want to send an email instead of posting a comment on the blog please do so by emailing: customercare@mindtimeshare.com
This entry was posted in Bogus resale companies, Warnings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Have you been contacted by Otium Vacations for a Timeshare Resale?

  1. Reblogged this on Mindtimeshare and commented:


    We have detected that the website http://www.otiumvacations.com/ is no longer working and it seems that they are not answering their telephones either.

    If you have been dealing with Otium Vacations, then please do not hesitate to contact us!

    Email at customercare@mindtimeshare.com or place a comment on this blog.

  2. David says:

    I have had several phone conversations with”Rose” from Optium Vacations saying they have a buyer waiting to purchase my time share. Don’t know what they are selling for me as I purchased for a period of 3 years back in 2000. Today she has given me the company bank details to transfer £780 notary fees.
    I thought we were in July but it seems it is April 1st!!! April Fool Rose you haven’t fooled me lone bit!!!!

    • andy says:

      funny “Rose” contacted me today asking me to send an international bank transfer for £599. to release my funds from the sales of my club class vouchers seems “Rose” is a busy woman, i let her talk on and got bank details and will pass on to mindtime share ! she must think one of the buttons had fallen off my back lol

    • Colin says:

      I too have had the same offer from Otium from Lewis Rawlings, all ok until I received a call from a Rose Sinclaire who says she`s a Notary from the Government Notaria, employed by the Spanish Government and no connection with Otium and asking for £599 to release funds for the sale of my Timeshare so the proceeds of the sale can be sent to me. Could this be the same Rose who contacted you from otium? I`m beginning to think so. Just another scam i think.

  3. Stephen says:

    I was originally contacted by Lewis Rawlings 0034602407276 of Otium Vacations about the sale of my timeshare. They sent me there terms & conditions & a sales agreement which I signed & returned to them on 19/06/2014.On the 24/06/2014 I was contacted by Dina Cortez 0034611237646 who said she worked for the Notaria & that Otium Vacations had gone into administration & that I needed an NIE number to release the money they had for me. I have received a email from Robert Jones with the details of Dawn Whitehead bank details and need to pay 895GBP for the Notaria fee, once paid I have to contact the completions manager on 0034602594603. I have now been contacted by Mark Saunders who is supposed to be head of administration. How many more people are working this scam, all I can say is take note of the names & numbers & don’t touch them with a 10 foot barge pole.

  4. JOHN says:

    Had phone call from Notoriety bank said they have a buyer for my time share? But received
    letter from Otium Vacations.? They want £599 to be paid in to a bank in Marbella Malaga Spain
    Not too sure about this? Can any one help me out on this Please?

  5. andy says:

    we have been contacted by otium and have signed a contract saying that we will sell to their buyer, as of yet we havent been asked for any money upfront, will keep you updated if we are.
    we didnt even have our club class membership number or any paperwork
    so dubious about the whole thing. thought we would run with it to see what happened.

    • Elizabeth says:

      How is this going, I’ve just been contacted, no upfront fees, to me seems to good to be true

      • andy says:

        oh they will ask for your money soon they did with us wanted £599 to release funds.. dont think so , crooks

  6. graham says:

    I have been contacted by Otium Vacations with an offer to purchase my membership of DWVC.I didn’t realise they were still in business. I have never been contacted nor asked to pay my annual membership fee. I assumed they had gone the way of ILG and were no longer trading. Could it be that I am still a member?. ,I have been unable to make any contact to confirm my situation. Why would anybody offer me £12400 for my unconfirmed membership of this dubious club?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.